Riptide publishes anthologies of new short stories and poetry by both established and emerging writers. We are committed to providing a forum for high quality, innovative fiction and poems, expanding the readership of the short story genre and lyric poetry, enhancing their standing. We aim to include new voices in every issue.

All volumes of Riptide can be purchased online or at selected bookshops.


Dr. VIRGINIA BAILY’s short stories have been published in a range of journals and anthologies and won awards. Her first novel Africa Junction, published by Harvill Secker, came out in May 2011 and in 2012 she won the prestigious McKitterick Prize awarded by the Society of Authors. Her internationally best selling novel, Early One Morning,  (Little Brown July 2015), is a Sunday Times best seller and is being translated into eleven languages. Her latest  ‘absorbing novel by one of the most gifted, humane and perceptive storytellers at work today’ is due for publication (Little Brown March 2019) and entitled The Fourth Shore

Dr. SALLY FLINT’s poems and stories have been widely published and anthologised, most recently in A Body of Work (Bloomsbury) The Tree Line (Worple Press), and the online journals ‘The Clearing’ and ‘Morphrog’. She has two collections published Pieces of Us (Worple Press) and The Hospital Punch (Maquette Publications). She lectures in creative writing and co-edits Riptide Journal at the University of Exeter and is a tutor with The Poetry School. Her research interests include ekphrasis, especially links between technology, poetry and images. She also has a special interest in medical poetry. She is currently part of a consortium researching links between climate change, storytelling and the arts with Met Office scientists.

Editorial Board

Dr. JANE FEAVER worked for Faber and Faber as assistant poetry editor before moving to Devon. Her first novel According to Ruth was published by Harvill Secker in 2007. Her story collection Love Me Tender’(2009) was short-listed for the Edgehill prize in 2010. An Inventory of Heaven was published by Constable in June 2012. Jane is a lecturer in creative writing at the Universty of Exeter and a regular tutor with the Arvon Foundation.

Professor PHILIP HENSHER is a novelist, critic and columnist. His novels, The Fit, and, The Mulberry Empire, are available from Harper Perennial. The Northern Clemency, published by Fourth Estate, was short-listed for the Man Booker prize in 2008, and for the Commonwealth Prize. King of the Badgers came out in March 2011 to great acclaim. Scenes from Early Life, published in 2012, won the Ondaatje Prize 2013.  His novel, The Emperor Waltz, described as ‘his most ambitious and daring novel yet’  was published by Harper Collins in June 2014.  He lectures in creative writing at Bath Spa University.

Dr. LUKE KENNARD is a poet, dramatist, writer of fiction and a senior lecturer in creative writing at the University of Birmingham. He won an Eric Gregory Award in 2005. His collection of poems, The Harbour Beyond the Movie, was short-listed for the Forward Prize in 2007. His third collection of poetry, The Migraine Hotel, was published by Salt in April 2009. Holophin, a sci-fi novella was published by Penned in the Margins (2012). His debut novel The Transition was published by 4th Estate to critical acclaim in 2017.

JAMES LONG has written eleven novels under three names. In 2007, Faber published his first work of non-fiction The Plot Against Pepys, co-written with his oldest son, Ben. His most recent novels (as ‘Will Davenport’) are The Painter and The Perfect Sinner.