Dr Virginia Baily

DR VIRGINIA BAILY is the author of three novels: Africa Junction, Early One Morning, and The Fourth Shore. She won the McKitterick prize in 2012 for her debut novel and her work has been translated into thirteen languages. Early One Morning was a Sunday Times Bestseller and was dramatized on BBC Radio 4. Her award-winning short stories have been widely published. She is currently working on a novel set in Exeter.

Dr. Sally Flint

DR SALLY FLINT is a writer and editor who lectures in English, Creative Writing.  Her writing has been widely published, anthologised, and won awards. Interested in connections between visual culture, poetry, and stories, she also works on environmental and socio-political writing, often in collaboration with scientists and health care professionals. Recently, she curated…

Continue reading “Dr. Sally Flint”

Kit de Waal

Kit de Waal, born to an Irish mother and Caribbean father, was brought up among the Irish community of Birmingham in the ‘60s and ‘70s. Her debut novel My Name Is Leon was an international bestseller, shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award, longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize and won the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award for 2017.

Continue reading “Kit de Waal”

Jane Feaver

Jane Feaver is a novelist and short story writer. Her first novel, According to Ruth, was shortlisted for the Author’s Club Best First Novel Award and the Dimplex Prize. Love Me Tender was shortlisted for the Edge Hill Short Story Prize. For seven years she worked as a Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing at Exeter University. She is now based in Edinburgh, and a regular tutor for the Arvon Foundation and a trustee of StAnza Poetry Festival. Her most recent novel is Crazy.

Billy Kahora

Billy Kahora is the author of the short story collection The Cape Cod Bicycle War and the non-fiction novella The True Story of David Munyakei. He was highly commended by the 2007 Caine Prize judges for his story ‘Treadmill Love’; his story ‘Urban Zoning’ was shortlisted for the prize in 2012, ‘The Gorilla’s Apprentice’ in 2014. His short fiction and creative non-fiction has appeared in Granta, Chimurenga, McSweeney’s and Kwani?. He wrote the screenplay for Soul Boy and co-wrote Nairobi Half Life which won the Kalasha awards. He worked for nearly a decade for Kenya’s leading literary publisher Kwani Trust, editing seven issues of the Kwani? journal. He is currently Lecturer in Creative Writing at the University of Bristol.

Luke Kennard

Luke Kennard is a poet and writer of fiction who was born in Kingston Upon Thames in 1981. He has published five collections of poetry. He won an Eric Gregory Award in 2005 and was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best Collection in 2007. He has a PhD in English from the University of Exeter and lectures at the University of Birmingham. In 2014 he was named one of the Next Generation Poets by the Poetry Book Society in their once per-decade list. His first novel, The Transition, was BBC Radio 4 Book at Bedtime and was longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize and his second novel The Answer to Everything will be published in 2021.